36th Snow Polo World Cup in St. Moritz 2020

The tournament committee of the Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz is pleased to welcome de Grisogono as a new team sponsor of the only “high goal’ tournament on snow, worldwide.

De Grisogono, the Swiss luxury jeweler, joins the sponsorship ranks of the three pre-existing teams in the tournament: Badrutt’s Palace, Azerbaijan Land of Fire, and Maserati. Founder and organizer Reto Gaudenzi is delighted with the new addition. “We are proud to have the prestigious de Grisogono as a new team tournament sponsor,” Gaudenzi said.

Snow Polo
St Moritz Snow Polo World Cup 2019. Azerbaijan Land of Fire vs. Cartier and Badrutt’s Palace Hotel vs. Maserati. © Tony Ramirez/www.imagesofpolo.com

Top international players from around the world will compete for the coveted de Grisogono Trophy. Players and fans will gather for the competition from January 24 to 26, 2020.

Demand for Sponsorship, VIP tickets and Gala Night at an All-time High

The new sponsors and partners of the Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz are joining existing sponsors such as Deutsche Bank Wealth Management, La Martina, Netjets, Maura Wasescha, Cellcosmet, Etihad Airways, Bethanian Hospital, Oona Caviar, and Winterthur Doppelleu Boxer Brewery. All of St. Moritz’ five-star hotels, including Badrutt’s Palace, Kulm Hotel St. Moritz, Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains, Hotel Carlton, and Suvrett House, are welcoming guests.

Snow Polo

Ticket sales are expected to tally a new record for the VIP experience, the Chukker Club, and the exclusive “Baku Moritz Gala” held on Saturday, January 25, 2020. A few tickets are still available at www.snowpolo-st.moritz.com/tickets/.

Admission to the tournament grounds is free to the public. Local restauranteurs, under the guidance of Badrutt’s Palace Hotel, will cater a wide array of culinary treats for tournament visitors throughout the weekend.

Snow Polo
Azerbaijan Land of Fire vs. Cartier @Snow Polo World Cup St.Moritz 2019 BILDNACHWEIS: fotoSwiss.com/cattaneo

Team Captains Announced

Team Maserati will be co-captained by Zhanna Bandurko and Very Mishchenko. Team Azerbaijan Land of Fire will be led by Elcin Jamalli. Kutlay Yaprak will serve as captain for Team de Grisogno. Team Badratt’s Palace captain is Melissa Ganzi, the first woman ever to play on a Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz championship team.

About the Snow Polo World Cup

In 1985, founder and organizer Reto Gaudenzi’s first polo tournament on snow began in a blizzard. It was and still is the only polo tournament played on a frozen lake. Around 1,000 spectators and 100 journalists witnessed the event.

Four teams sporting four players each will compete for the 2020 Snow Polo World Cup St. Moritz trophy. Fifteen thousand spectators attended last year’s tournament. The game will again be played on the frozen Lake St. Moritz. This amazing sports setting features a backdrop of the Engadine Alps.

Tim Cotroneo
Tim Cotroneohttps://www.timcotroneo.com
Tim Cotroneo is a freelance writer specializing in Caribbean travel, business, and golf. Tim writes hotel, resort and villa features. Tim has a passion for writing entrepreneurial success stories, as well as what makes your golf course unique. Tim shoots his own photos to accompany articles. Tim is the Contributing Editor of Travel Dreams Magazine, and heโ€™s the Travel Writer for American Business Owner Magazine. Timโ€™s travel, golf, and business articles can be viewed at www.timcotroneo.com

Similar Articles

Marissa Collections
Qatar Airways


36th Snow Polo World Cup in St. Moritz 2020